Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Today's Special - - Molly O'Keefe


Today, we welcome Molly O'Keefe back to The Romance Dish. It's always cause for celebration when Molly has a new book out. This time around it's WILD CHILD, first in her new The Boys of Bishop series (read Janga's review here). 

Please give Molly a warm welcome!











The Art of the Glom

As I write this post, it's a rainy Sunday after a really busy week and I can hear my kids gloming a show on Netflix called Kick Buttowski. There's a chance this show has the most annoying theme song ever. But last night, with a glass of wine and the TV to myself, I finished my own glom of Sons of Anarchy, Season One.  Until two in the morning!

I recently discovered Sarah McLean's historical romances - glom.

Thea Harrison's Dragon series - glom.

I've stayed up late, woken up early, taken the book to the park, because I NEEDED TO FINISH THE BOOK, all so I could start the next one.

Gloms are little mini-addictions.

And while the adrenaline thrill and satisfaction of starting and finishing an entire television season, or a series of books in a week is nothing to sneeze at, I wonder how much we're missing when we do that? How many little subplots and moments are read and immediately forgotten because it's two in the morning and frankly, we're just skimming to the end so we can see what the cliffhanger is for the next book?

I love Meljean Brook's Iron Seas series, because whenever a new book comes out, I re-read the first books as a refresher course on the world. And with every re-read, I feel or think something new. That's its own kind of thrill. 

So, what about you? Are you a glomer? What was the last glom you went on? Or are you a read it/watch it as they come out kind of person?

To feed your next glom - I will give away one copy of Can't Buy Me Love - the first book in the Crooked Creek series and WILD CHILD the first book in my new series; The Boys Of Bishop, to one lucky winner.


If you're interested in finding out more about my new series THE BOYS OF BISHOP and WILD CHILD which is being released Oct. 30 come find me at www.molly-okeefe.com or on facebook https://www.facebook.com/MollyOKeefeBooks?ref=hl





Perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson, this sizzling romance tells the story of a sexy small-town mayor and a notorious “bad girl,” who discover that home really is where the heart is.

Monica Appleby is a woman with a reputation. Once she was America’s teenage “Wild Child,” with her own reality TV show. Now she’s a successful author coming home to Bishop, Arkansas, to pen the juicy follow-up to her tell-all autobiography. Problem is, the hottest man in town wants her gone. Mayor Jackson Davies is trying to convince a cookie giant to move its headquarters to his crumbling community, and Monica’s presence is just too . . . unwholesome for business. But the desire in his eyes sends a very different message:Stay, at least for a while.

Jackson needs this cookie deal to go through. His town is dying and this may be its last shot. Monica is a distraction proving too sweet, too inviting—and completely beyond his control. With every kiss he can taste her loneliness, her regrets, and her longing. Soon their uncontrollable attraction is causing all kinds of drama. But when two lost hearts take a surprise detour onto the bumpy road of unexpected love, it can only lead someplace wonderful.

40 comments:

  1. I'm glad you explained GLOM. I did have an inkling, but still appreciated. Right now I'm glomming on the new TV series Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. My daughter got me hooked.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Mary, I'm hooked on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D! Love it! It's my favorite new show of the season.

      Delete
    2. I need to give Agents of Shield another chance - the opener didn't grab me and I kind of wandered off. But I need to go back...after I finish this Sons of Anarchy thing I'm on!!

      Delete
  2. Congratulations on your new book Molly! I think the last time I glommed (probably not a word) was when I read a bunch of Kristen Ashley books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, let's just make it a word. ;-)

      Delete
    2. It's totally a word...isn't it? Kristin Ashley is totally a glommable (now, that's not a word...is it?) author. Tons of books all available at the click of a button!

      Delete
  3. Have been waiting for Wild Child. Best wishes with this new Series, Molly. And thanks for the giveaway. I love your books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love Molly's books too, Pat. Can't wait to read WILD CHILD!

      Delete
  4. Oh, yes, I am a glommer. I distinctly remember reading The Temptation of Savannah O'Neill and glomming Molly O'Keefe books in 2010. :) The last author I remember glomming is Alyssa Johnson. I read Practically Wicked after several people recommended it, and as soon as I finished it, I started downloading her backlist. I don't think I glom TV shows often. I rarely watch TV, so I do often watch a full season in a marathon viewing session. I did that with Downton Abbey. But the only TV show I remember seeing one episode and feeling compelled to see all the others is the British series As Time Goes By, which I not only glommed but also re-viewed after the first viewing, as I reread favorite books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I totally glommed Downton Abby too! I haven't heard of the Alyssa Johnson books - is it urban fantasy?

      Delete
  5. Downton Abbey was a glom show for me too, Janga. I discovered it close to the end of the second season and, of course, had to immediately go back and watch all the earlier episodes.

    Jennifer Ashley is an author I came to late. All it took was one Mackenzie book to send me running to find the rest of them.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hi Molly! Welcome back! I'm looking forward to reading Wild Child. Hopefully, this weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I glom ounce upon a time in wonderland and the Miller's tv shows.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I started watching The Millers but the mother got on my nerves pretty quickly. I only lasted two episodes.

      Delete
  8. I'm terrible about this.... I dvr a series and then watch all the episodes..

    ReplyDelete
  9. I glom all series books. I wait to I get all the books then read then all at once.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I try to do that, Dianne but I never seem to make it to the end. I usually start reading somewhere around book #3. ;-)

      Delete
  10. Ashamed to admit it, but I glommed Duck Dynasty. When a new Outlander book is coming out I reread all the previous books and discover connections between the books I hadn't realized during the first (or second, or maybe third) read. I've read the excerpt and am looking forward to reading Wild Child.
    LauraR

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm a series re-reader too, Laura. I love going back to revisit previous characters prior to a new book coming out.

      Delete
  11. I no longer gloomed anymore. I read most of Catherine Anderson's books and many of Sarah Mayberry. I would if I could read faster though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jcp, I'm a fast reader and I still can't keep up with all the books I want to read! :)

      Delete
  12. I can't remember who I last glomed in books, but I did GLOM Dowton Abbey when I started to watch it last year. I got the first three seasons at the library on DVD while I PVR'd season 4. I think I did season 1&2 in one day and the next day I did season 3...

    ReplyDelete
  13. Congratulations on the new release. I tend to glom on books more than tv. If I didn't watch a series from the beginning of the season, I catch up with it in summer re-runs (ex. Once Upon a Time) or if I missed several seasons, I usually discover it through syndication (Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Bones). I tend to use the dvr only if I missed 1 or 2 shows. As for authors, if I discover a new one and they have a backlist, then I do usually read them all.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I too glom on books of my fav authors. Looking forward to Molly's latest book and love the fact it is the start of a new series.
    Natalie's Mama

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love glomming on authors! I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter and I've been addicted to her Lords of the Underworld series to the point I realized I've neglected her Alien Huntress series. I just finished up her Dark Taste of Rapture book when I realized her newest book Black and Blue and now I'm trying to finish up the rest of the AH series so I can get to the Otherworld Assassin series!! It's a mad rush scrambling to find all the copies I'm missing at my local library :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Oh, gosh, I love a good glom! I've been glomming on Parks and Recreation and Community, two of the best shows EVEA, I've realized.
    On the book front, I've recently read The Name of This Book is Secret, and once I get hold of the next four, I'm settling in for a nice long glom!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Yep, I am a glommer. I tape the TV series Once Upon A Time and watch em all at one sitting. I am glommimg Cate Beauman's bodyguard series now. Loving it. I will reread books in q series when the latest one comes out too. Really looking forward to your new series.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I only started watching Downton Abbey part way into the last season. Well, I had to glom and immediately ordered all the seasons on DVD. LOL

    In books I try to get all of a series before I start to read it so I don't forget any of the little details between books.

    Marcy Shuler
    bmndshuler(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  19. Hi Molly, congrats on the new book! For tv shows, I`m more of a watch as they come out kind of gal. If I don`t watch regularly, I ALWAYS end up finding out about spoilers! (that totally ruins a show for me) LOL If there`s a new author for me and I read a new book, then of course I have to glom to catch up on all the going-ons! Can`t wait to read Wild Child, I have it on my wish list. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  20. My last glom was Elizabeth Hoyt's Maiden Lane Series. I can't wait to read the new one. I usually wait until all books in a series are out so I can read them right through. It holds the continuity of the story arc and characters when read that way. I just couldn't wait any longer to start this series. I don't have much patience to wait for the next book in a series, especially when they take a year or so to come out. I am waiting for one in a series I really like and it has been three years since we were left hanging.
    Any book I really like gets read really fast so I can find out what happened. That is why I try to reread favorites. Every time I do, I find little details I missed the first time. The first read is a race to see how it ends. The second is more about how it got there.

    Thank you for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  21. I have your book pre ordered Molly, congrats. I am a big glommer and am now glomming Scandal! Mid way through second season. I too re read when a new book comes out.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Hi, Molly! I don't usually reread the books in a series when the new one comes out, but sometimes I do. Other times, I wait for all the books to come out before I buy them so I can read them in order.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Congrats on your new release, Molly!
    I'm a glommer to be sure; my latest glom was the "Writing Girl series by Maya Rodale.

    ReplyDelete
  24. thanks for the giveaway and good luck with your new book!!

    ReplyDelete
  25. Best wishes with the new release, Molly - I cannot wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  26. That was me at 2:42PM - meant to choose google. Helen L.

    ReplyDelete