Saturday, May 21, 2011

Stock Up Saturday

Honey Grove
By Genell Dellin
Publisher: Berkley Sensation
Release Date: May 3, 2011

Bless her heart. What would it be like to grow up in limbo without anybody telling you how you fit into your family tree and where you got your temper and who passed down those big, violet-colored eyes and whose nose you’d inherited?

It must be sort of like floating in space, untethered.

These are rancher Lilah Briscoe’s thoughts after seeing her granddaughter, Meredith, for the first time in over twenty years. The death of Lilah’s wayward daughter and Meredith’s mother brings the New York City attorney to Rock Springs, Texas. While Meri is there, Lilah tries to show her the charm of Honey Grove, the family farm, and the rest of the town. At first, Meri wants nothing to do with it—she needs to get back to New York and her busy life. However, when Lilah is badly injured, Meri feels obligated to stay and help her grandmother. It doesn’t take long for Meri to see the appeal of the town and its people, including the handsome Caleb Burkett. Once Meri learns that her grandmother may lose her precious Honey Grove, she and Caleb want nothing more than to help Lilah save the farm. And in the process, they just might find a whole lot more.

Honey Grove is a touching small town story about the power of forgiveness and the strength of family. The book is classified as a contemporary romance, but I would call it women’s fiction. While there is a bit of a romance between Meri and Caleb, the main focus is on the relationship between a stubborn, outspoken grandmother and her equally obstinate granddaughter. One has always had a place to call home and the other never has...until now. Old habits are hard to break, but these two strong women find a middle ground through compromise and the help of some vibrant secondary characters. This book is the start of a series and I look forward to the next charming tale set in Rock Springs, Texas.



Warrior Betrayed
By Addison Fox
Publisher: Signet Eclipse
Release Date: May 3, 2011

Millennia ago, the Goddess of Justice created a race of fierce warriors, each imbued with a special power of the zodiac and charged with protecting humanity from the darkest evils.

Montana Grant spent her childhood without her mother, who left when Montana was a very young child. What Montana does not know is that her mother is Eirene, the Goddess of Peace, which makes her the daughter of Themis, the Goddess of Justice. When Eirene fell in love with a mortal years ago and turned her back on her sacred duties, Themis cursed Eirene’s unborn child that she would one day replace her mother on Mount Olympus. Montana is now in charge of her late father’s shipping company, and suddenly her mother returns babbling nonsense about Mt. Olympus, curses and immortal warriors. Montana’s first thought is that her mother is in need of some serious psychiatric help, but when she and her company become a target and her life is in danger, she begins to realize maybe her mother’s not so crazy after all.

Quinn Tanner is the security executive who is overseeing Montana Grant’s safety. He’s also a Taurus Warrior who finds himself attracted to his charge, against his better judgment. True to his sign, Quinn is stubborn, “bull-headed”, and used to being completely in charge. This time, however, his heart---and libido---have a mind of their own, and maybe that’s not such a bad thing. One thing is certain; Quinn will do everything in his power to protect Montana and help her reach her destiny, with a little help from his warrior “brothers.”

Addison Fox’s Sons of the Zodiac series is an action-packed and emotionally charged good time, and Warrior Betrayed picks it up and keeps on running with it. Quinn and Montana are quite a pair; two strong individuals who must learn to work together and realize that love will only make them stronger. As with any series, I love “revisiting” characters from previous books and meeting new ones. Let me assure you, these Zodiac warriors are hot with a capital ‘H’! It is not necessary to read the series in order, although it makes it more interesting. If you choose to read them all, here they are in order: Warrior Ascended, Warrior Avenged, and Warrior Betrayed. Enjoy!

~ Gannon



  1. Both books look like great reading. My list grows ever longer.

  2. As does ours, marybelle! *g* Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Ladies

    More books to add to the growing must have list LOL

    Have Fun

  4. Marybelle, my list is so long already and it just gets longer. :-)

  5. Helen, we all have long lists, don't we?! *g*

  6. Two very different books and both sound like good reads. Thanks for giving the books in the Warrior series. I like to read them in order. I'll never get through all the books I want to read.

  7. I'll never get through all the books I want to read.

    Neither will I, librarypat. *sigh*

  8. Sounds like two mor lovely reads, and Kilts, too!