Monday, August 2, 2010

It's RITA Night!

It's the biggest night of the year for the members of Romance Writers of American (RWA).  It's time for the RITA!  The scene is set, the gowns are gorgeous, the smiles could light Disney World and we're ready to find out who will take home the awards for best books of the year.  To refresh your memory as to who the finalists in each category are, go to the RITA® list at the RWA website.

And the RITA® goes to...

Best First Book:  One Scream Away by Kate Brady

Contemporary Series Romance:  A Not-So-Perfect-Past by Beth Andrews

Contemporary Series Romance: Suspense/Adventure:  The Soldier's Secret Daughter by Cindy Dees

Contemporary Single Title:  Too Good to be True by Kristan Higgins

Historical Romance:  Not Quite a Husband by Sherry Thomas

Inspirational Romance:  The Inheritance by Tamera Alexander

Novel with Strong Romantic Elements:  The Lost Recipe for Happiness by Barbara O'Neal

Paranormal Romance:  Kiss of a Demon King by Kresley Cole

Regency Historical Romance:  What Happens in London by Julia Quinn
 * This win put Julia Quinn into the RWA Hall of Fame!

Romance Novella:  "The Christmas Eve Promise" by Molly O'Keefe

Romantic Suspense:  Whisper of Warning by Laura Griffin

Young Adult Romance:  Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Other awards bestowed this week are...

2010 Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award: Debbie Macomber

2010 Emma Merritt Service Award: Jennifer Crusie

2010 RWA Service Award: Madeline Hunter

2010 RWA Steffie Walker Bookseller of the Year Award: Gail Link, Barnes and Noble, Wilmington, Delaware

2010 Librarian of the Year: Jennifer Lohmann, Durham County Library, Durham, North Carolina

2010 RWA Vivian Stephens Industry Award: Eileen Hutton, VP, Associate Publisher (Retired) Brilliance Audio

2010 RWA Veritas Award: Gwenda Bond, Publishers Weekly, "Romancing the Recession."

Centennial Award: Given to RWA members upon the publication of their 100th romantic novel. Congratulations to:

Carla Cassidy
Marie Ferrarella
Heather Graham
Jayne Ann Krentz
Debbie Macomber
Susan Mallery
Linda Lael Miller
Carole Mortimer
Nora Roberts
Rebecca Winters
Sherryl Woods

You can find more information about all of these awards at the RWA Website.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you, this is the first time I have seen the results of the awards ceremony. An impressive list of those who have earned the Centennial Award.